Public Relations Foundation Awards Two Scholarships

The Emerald Coast Public Relations Foundation awarded two $1,000 scholarships to Fort Walton Beach High School seniors.

Stephen Spivey and Grason Shackelford, both residents of Destin, were selected by the Foundation’s board of judges based on their academic records, leadership and community activities and letters of recommendation.

Shackelford plans to attend the University of Georgia majoring in Business Marketing. Spivey will attend Troy University and plans to major in Business Administration and Global Marketing.

The Emerald Coast Public Relations Foundation was established in 2007 as a non-profit charitable organization to support education and advancement in the public relations and related fields. The Foundation provides scholarships to worthy high school students who intend to pursue a higher education field of study in public relations, communication, marketing or journalism.

More information about the ECPR Foundation Scholarship and applications can be found at


ECPRO members win Lantern Awards from SPRF

Emerald Coast Public Relations Organization (ECPRO) members Andi Mahoney and Leslie Moland of White Wilson have been awarded two Lantern Awards from The Southern Public Relations Federation (SPRF). SPRF recognizes outstanding work in the field of public relations through its annual Lantern Awards program.
Entries are judged on their individual merit by nationwide PR practitioners. The awards program offers three levels of recognition, including Certificates of Merit, Awards of Excellence and Lantern Awards. From those, the judges also select the Best of Show Award and up to two Judges’ Choice Awards.
Moland and Mahoney won for their entries “5th Anniversary of the Little Black Dress Party” and a commercial video “We Are Here.” They received their awards at ECPRO’s monthly meeting on October 27. Kristina Hendrix, SPRF Board President for 2014, presented the awards.
Mahoney started the Little Black Dress Party, now in its sixth year, to benefit the White Wilson Community Foundation, which works to educate the community on the importance of preventive care, such as mammograms, and to provide health services to those who need them most.
ECPRO is a member of the Southern Public Relations Federation. SPRF members include public relations professional members in four states – Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi and Florida.



Southern Public Relations Federation Awards ECPRO Senior Practitioners at Annual Conference



Kathy Newby, ECPRO President (Left)
and Brenda Franco

Emerald Coast Public Relations Organization (ECPRO), a member of the regional Southern Public Relations Federation (SPRF), recognized ECPRO Vice President and Cumulus Radio Account Manager Brenda Franco as Senior Practitioner. The senior practitioner designation was established to honor members of SPRF who are recognized by their peers as veteran public relations professionals with high ethical standing and 15 plus years of experience.


Brenda Franco had this to say about the Senior Practitioner Award: “I am honored to receive this recognition from SPRF. During my involvement with ECPRO I discovered how strong public relations is in this market. I also learned how important it is to control not just what information is sent to the public but also how and when it’s sent. ECPRO has amazing members who are always willing to share their experiences and ideas, and eagerly help mentor new members.” SPRF members include members in four states: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi and Florida.


Welcome to our 2015 ECPRO Officers


As 2015 gets underway, ECPRO has a new slate of officers, who were elected in December. The 2015 officers are:


President: Kathy Newby

Vice-President: Brenda Franco

Secretary: Scarlett Baumann

Treasurer: Danna Franks

Thanks to these members for stepping up to lead the club during 2015. There are also many other people who will be working to make the year successful, including all the ECPRO members. We are always looking for new members who are involved in Public Relations in any way, whether as a paid employee or a volunteer. Your experience is valuable, and you have something to share with us. If you’re interested in visiting with us, please attend one of our membership meetings on the fourth Tuesday of each month at Angler’s on Okaloosa Island. We meet from 11:30 a.m. until 1 p.m. and always have a great program concerning some aspect of Public Relations. Be sure to bring plenty of business cards to network with our members. Contact Kathy Morrow, or 850-974-3662, for more information.

Member News

2015_joe_sherry_ken_revJoe Purka was elected to the Southern Public Relations Federation Hall of Fame in July 2014. Joe was honored as a leader in public relations both in the military and in jobs after the military. He is also involved with our community and has been an ECPRO member for many years. Joe joins Ken Hair and Sherry Harlow in the Hall of Fame. ECPRO is the only club within SPRF with three members in the Hall of Fame.

Congratulations to Kathy Morrow, who was nominated by ECPRO to receive SPRF’s Professional Achievement Award. She was recognized at the 2014 SPRF conference in New Orleans in September.

Kathy Newby was recently elected secretary of the SPRF Board of Directors. She succeeds Kathy Morrow, who was the 2014 secretary, and Toni Richardson, who was the 2013 secretary.


membership_pgraphicWe want to know what you think!

Members: Check back for our monthly speaker surveys, contests and more!